Feeling Better

i feel better now

I just wanted to thank all of you for support and encouragement from my last post.  I am feeling much better and my thoughts have straightened out quite a bit.  The ground is not so shaky and I am seeing things in a better light.  A special thanks for those who commented:  Robert, Ulpal, Debbie, Jodi Lea, Noel and Laura.  You’re helpful insight and sober tools were a tremendous help.  Just knowing people care makes a big difference!  The world of blogging is truly amazing.  It never ceases to amaze me how people I have never met will reach out and give encouragement to a stranger.  There is still alot of love in this world and even though our world is in a fallen state, the love from people surely overcomes all evil.

I do realize I am not out of the woods yet and have to continue to be actively pursuing recovery on a daily basis.  Staying sober for me cannot be done without God and others like you.  It’s important that I keep my heart right with the Lord and stay in constant contact with Him.  Thank goodness for the Holy Spirit interjecting on my behalf when I am not able to pray.  It’s not that I am not able to pray, it’s more like I don’t always have the words to say what I need to say.  I especially find this to be true when I am in a darkened state of mind.  It’s like a barrier to prayer.

I am sure some of the people who read my blog may not have God as their Higher Power.  This is what works for me and I have tried many ways to remain sober in the past without God.  It never lasted.  I’m not quite sure how other people do it without God but I am sure there are many.  Although, I wonder how they get any peace and joy from not having God in their life.  But I will not judge your sobriety ways and ask you to not judge mine.  Do what works to remain sober.  Not everyone follows the same way and we all have to find what works.

So I have a very busy work week ahead of me and it starts in a couple hours so I better get ready for work.  Thanks again to all my friends who read this and may God bless all of us with peace and sober days this week.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. robertlfs
    Nov 11, 2013 @ 17:11:52

    You hit the nail on the head. If it is working for you, that is what is important. If it is not working, then it’s time to consider alternatives. At the risk of sounding like an “old timer” preaching, I was some 25 years sober when I decided to stop worrying about how others told me I needed to work my program. I have not a complaint in the world today. I am blessed beyond my wildest expectations in recovery. What I am doing is working for me. When I hit bumps in the road, which I do, and the same old same old doesn’t work, I try something different. Over the past years, I have a bunch of tools in my recovery toolbox to draw on to live another day of sobriety, one day at a time.

    Reply

  2. carrythemessage
    Nov 12, 2013 @ 00:37:21

    Glad you are feeling better 🙂

    And yeah, I don’t get caught up in who does or doesn’t have a HP or God or what not…even if they are in a certain program or not. What works for me works for me. And if I can help anyone along the line…that is great. We each have our paths, up and down.

    Stay true to your own path…the Creator will be there always.

    Blessings,
    Paul

    Reply

  3. Noel
    Nov 13, 2013 @ 02:58:39

    Thanks for the update! Great to know that you are better. Keep up doing what works for you. God bless.

    Reply

  4. Minister Aiken
    Dec 10, 2013 @ 21:15:55

    Just checking in Michelle. Love what you are doing here. God is doing a work in and through you my sister.

    Do not forsake the assembling of the brethern. Iron sharpens iron. We need each other for the strength and encouragement.

    God bless!

    Debra

    Reply

    • Sober Chick
      Dec 22, 2013 @ 00:30:23

      You are always so encouraging Pastor Debra. I wish I looked at myself like you and God do. Lately, I am not the Christian I am suppose to be. I even have a hard time praying. About the most I can say to the Lord is “Help me”. It seems like a cop out. Do you think that He gets tired of hearing us say that? Especially when He puts things in our path and we ignore or don’t open our eyes to His blessings?

      Reply

      • Minister Aiken
        Dec 23, 2013 @ 13:03:32

        Michelle,
        regardless of what you have done, God still loves you. The bible says a righteous man falls 7 times and gets back up. Do not beat your self up. Get up, dust yourself off and pick up where you left off. Get back into your Word, find a bible base church where you can fellowship with other believers. keep believing God’s Word, keep trusting Him and keep telling others about Him.

        Romans 8:1 there is now therefore no condemnation to them that are in Christ Jesus. Those who walk after the spirit and not after the flesh.

        God is never tired of hearing from you. As a matter of fact, He looks forward to hearing from you everyday, all day. He is your Father and He loves you.

        We learn from our mistakes and keep moving forward. Do not look back. Once God has forgiven you, you must forgive youself and keep moving.

        God loves you and He will never leave you nor forsake you.

        Give Him thanks and praise on today for truly He has proven his love to us over 2k years ago at calvary.

        God bless you my sister and Merry Christmas.

        Debra

      • Sober Chick
        Dec 24, 2013 @ 04:27:52

        Thanks Debra. You are always so encouraging, I really appreciate it.

      • Minister Aiken
        Dec 24, 2013 @ 11:50:35

        God loves you and so do I.
        Debra

  5. hodgepodge4thesoul
    Mar 13, 2014 @ 20:32:36

    Thank you for the visit, dear one. 😀 So what’s on your mind? I know there’s something that has been stirring in you to get out – even if it’s venting. You have so much to share. Please, don’t hold it in…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

